It appears you have come across a page on our old site! Bear with us, we're still moving things around a bit. If you would, please let us know how you ended up here!

The Council of State Governments
CSG East | CSG Midwest | CSG West
Federal Affairs | Justice Center | Affiliates

Sign up for our emails!

Annual Meeting Presentations

Agriculture & Rural Development Committee

U. S. Department of Agriculture Strike Force Initiative

Latrice Hill, National Manager, StrikeForce for Rural Growth and Opportunity; Director of Outreach, Farm Service Agency, USDA, Washington, D.C.


Food and Drug Administration and the Food Safety Modernization Act

Jeff A. Farrar, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs and Partnerships, Office of Foods & Veterinary Medicine, Food and Drug Administration, Maryland

Assistant Commissioner Joe Reardon, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, North Carolina

Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Arkansas


2014 Farm Bill

Karis T. Gutter, Deputy Under Secretary, Farm and Foreign Agricultural Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D.C.

Michael Sullivan, State Conservationist, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Arkansas


State Rural Policy Initiative

David Terrell, Chair, Rural State Policy Panel, Rural Policy Research Institute, Missouri


Economic Development, Transportation & Cultural Affairs Committee

Leveraging Manufacturing to Expand Economic Growth in Arkansas

Grant Tennille, Executive Director, Arkansas Economic Development Commission


Funding Transportation in the States: Challenges and Strategies

Scott Bennett, Director, Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department

Sherri H. LeBas, Secretary, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development


Crystal Bridges: Revitalizing Arkansas’s Cultural and Economic Landscape

Rod Bigelow, Executive Director, Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, Arkansas


Pathways to Prosperity: Southern State Efforts to Prepare A 21st Century Workforce

Senate Majority Leader, Mark Norris, Tennessee

William C. Wampler, Jr., Executive Director, New College Institute, Virginia

Dr. Glen Fenter, President, Mid-South Community College, Arkansas


Advancing Logistics and Supply Chain Efforts in the 21st Century: Strategies for Policymakers to Consider

Russell Gwatney, President, Gwatney Enterprises, Inc., Tennessee


Education Committee

Creating Creative Designs in Education

Gregory D. Bernas, Chief Engineer, Product Development Office, Toyota Technical Center, Michigan

Mark Schneider, President, College Measures; Vice President, American Institutes for Research, Washington, D.C.


Application of Neuroscience on Education Policy

Mariale Hardiman, Ed.D., Director, Neuro-Education Initiative, The Johns Hopkins University, Maryland

Ronald E. Kalil, Ph.D., Director, Neuroscience and Public Policy Program,University of Wisconsin-Madison


Early Education Policy

W. Steven Barnett, Ph.D., Board of Governors Professor, Graduate School of Education, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Bruce Atchison, Executive Director of Policy and Operations, Education Commission of the States, Colorado


Energy & Environment Committee

Fueling the Future: Shale Exploration and the SLC States

Lawrence Bengal, Director, Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission

George Sheffer, Vice-President of Operations, Fayetteville Shale, Arkansas


Bright Ideas: Infrastructure Development in the Energy Sector

Carl Handley, Plant Manager, Flint Creek Power Plant, American Electric Power, Arkansas

Duane Highley, Chief Executive Officer, Arkansas Electric Cooperatives


Grid Security: Protecting America’s Power

Curt Hebert, Visiting Scholar, Bipartisan Policy Center, Washington, D.C.

Michael Hightower, Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff, Military and Energy Systems Analysis, Sandia National Laboratories, New Mexico


Fiscal Affairs & Government Operations Committee Program

The Evolving Role of Federalism Issues in State Transportation Policy

Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Rodney E. Slater


C. Kenneth Orski, Editor and Publisher, Innovation Briefs


Role of Incentives in State Economic Development Projects

Patrick McHugh, Ph.D., Fiscal Research Division, General Assembly, North Carolina


Public Pension Funding Trends

Chris Mier, Managing Director, Analytical Services Division, Loop Capital


Comparative Data Report Presentations

Education - Hank Hager, Legislative Counsel, Senate, West Virginia

Medicaid - Shawn Hotstream, Legislative Fiscal Office, Louisiana

Revenue - Andrea Barksdale, Bureau of Legislative Research, Arkansas

Transportation - John Snyder, Legislative Research Commission, Kentucky

Adult Correctional Systems - Stephanie Blanchard, Legislative Fiscal Office, Louisiana


Human Services & Public Safety Committee

Medicaid Expansion Update

Andrew Allison, Ph.D., Director, Division of Medical Services, Arkansas

Eric Friedlander, Deputy Secretary, Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services

Jeremiah Samples, Deputy Cabinet Secretary, Department of Health and Human Resources, West Virginia


The Rising Cost of Prison Healthcare

Matt McKillop, Senior Associate, State Health Care Spending Project, The PEW Charitable Trust, Washington, D.C.

Lauren Sheer, Legislative Director, University of Texas Medical Branch


Mental Health Reforms

Sita Diehl, Director of State Policy and Advocacy, National Alliance on Mental Illness, Virginia


Legislative Service Agency Directors Group

The Supreme Court and the States: Briefing from the State and Local Legal Center

Lisa Soronen, Executive Director, State Local Legal Center, Washington, D.C.


New Member Orientation

Ann Cornwell, Director, Arkansas Senate

Caroline Dennis, Director of Legislative Operations, Oklahoma Senate


Experiences of New Research Division Directors

Moderator: Aaron Allred, Legislative Auditor, Legislative Manager, West Virginia Legislature

Marty Garrity, Director, Bureau of Legislative Research, Arkansas

Marcia Seiler, Acting Director, Kentucky Legislative Research Commission


Capitol Space Allocation

Debra Myers, Facilities Director, Georgia Building Authority


State Transformation in Action Recognition (STAR) Program

Alabama - School-Located Vaccination Clinics

Georgia - GStat

Oklahoma - Offender Screening Program

Tennessee - General Assembly Dashboard

Virginia - DMV Connect

West Virginia - Feed to Achieve

Southern Legislative Conference and SLC are trademarks registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.